Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Faculty Artist Concert Series: The Indianapolis Quartet performs Beethoven and Janáček

November 15, 2021 @ 7:30 pm

Monday, November 15, 2021 at 7:30
Ruth Lilly Performance Hall, Christel DeHaan Fine Arts Center

The Indianapolis Quartet: Beethoven and Janáček
Zach DePue, violin; Joana Genova, violin; Michael Strauss, viola; Austin Huntington, cello

The concert features two masterworks of the string quartet repertoire: Beethoven’s glorious Tenth Quartet, filled with vitality, heart, invention, and accessibility, which earned its nickname “The Harp” from the first movement’s elegant pizzicato sections, and Janáček’s Intimate Letters, referring to hundreds of letters that he wrote over many years, expressing his love to a young, married woman.  Janáček described his second string quartet as “beautiful, strange, unrestrained, inspired, a composition beyond all the usual conventions.”

This concert will be live-streamed at

The concert will also be open to limited, socially-distanced, in-person audiences.  COVID-19 information and policies:

All audience members must be approved for campus presence via this health check link:



November 15, 2021
7:30 pm
Event Categories: